International Labour Organization
2020-07-27 22:55

The International Labour Organization (ILO) is the United Nations agency for the world of work. It sets international labour standards, promotes rights at work and encourages decent employment opportunities, the enhancement of social protection and the strengthening of dialogue on work-related issues. The ILO has a unique structure, bringing together governments, employers’ and workers’ representatives. The ILO has 187 member States and is one of the oldest UN agencies. The ILO’s Secretariat has its headquarter in Geneva, Switzerland, and a global network of technical experts and field offices in more than 40 countries. The International Labour Conference (ILC) meets once a year to adopt new international labour standards and to approve the ILO’s work plan and budget. The Governing Body is the executive council of the ILO and meets three times a year in Geneva.

The Ministry of Human Resources and Social Security (MOHRSS) represents the Government of China in the work of the ILO, and participates in the concluding of agreements and other international acts in the field of labour, social policy and social security. MOHRSS works closely with the ILO in areas such as labour market governance, employment promotion and protection, and social security. China is one of the ten states of chief industrial importance that hold permanent seats in the Governing Body of the ILO. The All-China Federation of Trade Unions (ACFTU) and the China Enterprise Confederation (CEC) represent the workers and employers in China respectively to participate in ILO meetings and activities. In September 2016, MOHRSS and ILO signed a Memorandum of Understanding in relation to the establishment and implementation of a Strategic Partnership between the two institutions.