International Olympic Committee,IOC
2020-07-27 22:56

【Establishment】The International Olympic Committee was established in 1894 at the Olympic Congress in Paris, organized by Baron Pierre de Coubertin, a French educator.

【Objectives】The mission of the IOC is to lead the Olympic Movement for sound development throughout the world, promote ethics and act against discrimination and violence in sport, encourage fair play, promote sustainable development in sport, and use sport to improve well-being and promote peace.

【Members】There are currently 206 National or regional Olympic Committees (NOCs) recognized by the IOC, together with dozens of International Sport Federations, associations of NOCs formed at continental or world level and other organizations and institutions. The IOC members are natural persons. Currently the total number of IOC members is 100.

【Organization】The organs of the IOC are the Session, the Executive Board and the Secretariat.

【Headquarters】The seat of the IOC is in Lausanne, Switzerland.

【Head of the Organization】Thomas Bach of Germany was elected as President of the IOC in 2013, and his term runs through 2021.

【China’s Relationship with IOC】The Chinese Olympic Committee (COC) was recognized by the IOC in 1922. In 1958, the COC severed relations with the IOC due to IOC’s mistake of recognizing one of China's local organizations - a sports organization in Taiwan - as a national Olympic Committee. At a meeting held in Nagoya in 1979, the IOC Executive Board passed a resolution on the problem of China's representation, confirming the COC as the representative of the Olympic Movement in the whole of China, while the Olympic committee in Taiwan area, as one of China's local organizations, can only use the name of "Chinese Taipei Olympic Committee" with its flag, anthem and emblem different from the original ones pending IOC's approval. China was reinstated in the IOC. China started to take part in the Olympic Games from 1980.

Since COC's legal status was reinstated in the IOC, China has enjoyed sound cooperation with the IOC. China has had Kong Xiangxi, Dong Shouyi, Xu Heng (Chinese Taipei), He Zhenliang, Wu Jingguo (Chinese Taipei), Lu Shengrong, Huo Zhenting (Hong Kong, China), Yu Zaiqing, Yang Yang, Li Lingwei and Zhang Hong selected as IOC members for China. Yu Zaiqing, Li Lingwei and Zhang Hong are current IOC members for China. Yu Zaiqing serves as IOC Vice-President.

China contributes to the Olympic Movement by having hosted a few Olympic Games. The Games of the XXIX Olympiad were held in Beijing in August 2008. The 2nd Youth Olympic Games were held in Nanjing in 2014. In July 2015, Beijing and Zhangjiakou won the bid for the 2022 Olympic Winter Games. China has maintained close contacts with the IOC in recent years. President Xi Jinping has met with President Thomas Bach of the IOC for several times.