International Telecommunication Union, ITU
2020-07-27 23:01

【Establishment】Founded in 1865, the ITU became a specialized agency of the United Nations in 1947.

【Objectives】To facilitate international connectivity in communications networks, ITU allocates global radio spectrum and satellite orbits, develops the technical standards that ensure networks and technologies seamlessly interconnect, and strives to improve access to ICTs to underserved communities worldwide.

【Membership】ITU's global membership includes 193 Member States as well as some 900 companies, universities, and international and regional organizations. ​

【Structure】The ITU consists of Plenipotentiary Conference, the Council, the General Secretariat, the Radiocommunication Bureau, the Telecommunication Standardization Bureau and the Telecommunication Development Bureau.

【Head of the Organization】Zhao Houlin (Chinese), the secretary General of ITU, took office from 1 January 2015 and was re-elected in 2018 to the end of 2022.

【Headquarters】Geneva, Switzerland.

【China’s Relationship with ITU】China joined ITU in 1920. ITU restored the legal seat of the People's Republic of China in May 1972. Since then, China has been elected as a member of ITU council.

In October 2014, Zhao Houlin was elected Secretary-General of ITU, becoming the first Secretary-General from China in the history of ITU. He was re-elected in 2018 and will serve until the end of 2022.

On 27 April 2019, Zhao houlin was invited to attend the second Belt and Road Forum for International Cooperation in China.

The World Radiocommunication Conference (WRC-19) was held in Sharm el-Sheikh, Egypt, from 28 October to 22 November 2019. Zhang Feng, Chief Engineer of the Ministry of Industry and Information Technology, led the Chinese delegation to WRC-19.