The High Commissioner for Human Rights
2020-07-27 23:03

The post of the High Commissioner for Human Rights was created by the General Assembly resolution 48/141 in 1993, of the rank of Under-Secretary-General. The High Commissioner is appointed by the Secretary-General of the United Nations and approved by the General Assembly, with a fixed term of four years with a possibility of one renewal for another fixed term of four years. On September 1, 2018 Verónica Michelle Bachelet Jeria, the former President of Chile, assumed her functions as the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights. Her predecessors are Mr. José Ayala-Lasso, Ecuador, Mrs. Mary Robinson, Ireland, Mr. Sergio Vieira de Mello, Brazil, Ms. Louise Arbour, Canada, Ms. Navanethem Pillay, South Africa, and Mr. Zeid Ra'ad Al Hussein, Jordan.