History of the Mission
2020-07-25 00:00

With UNGA Resolution 2758 adopted by the 26th General Assembly on 25 October 1971, which restored the lawful seat of the People's Republic of China in the UN, China's multilateral diplomacy entered a new era. In August 1972, the Permanent Mission of the People's Republic of China to the United Nations Office at Geneva and Other International Organizations in Switzerland was established on the compound of the Chinese Consulate General in Geneva. In September, China set up its Consulate General in Zurich and closed the one in Geneva.

From 1972 to 1975, there was no Permanent Representative to head the Chinese Mission and Counsellor Wang Chongli acted as Deputy Permanent Representative. The first Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary and Permanent Representative of the People's Republic of China to the United Nations Office at Geneva and Other International Organizations in Switzerland was appointed in October 1975.

To better participate in the work of the Conference on Disarmament, in 1983 China appointed its first ambassador for disarmament affairs based in Geneva.

Over the years, the Chinese Mission to UNOG and other International Organizations in Switzerland has been deeply involved in the UN activities in human rights, disarmament, and social and economic development. It has been promoting China's cooperation with the UN, its specialized agencies, including the World Health Organization, the International Telecommunications Union, the World Intellectual Property Organization, the World Meteorological Organization, the International Labor Organization, and other international organizations, such as the International Committee of the Red Cross and the International Olympic Committee.

Ambassadors and Permanent Representatives

AN Zhiyuan       October 1975-January 1980

YU Peiwen           July 1979-November 1982

LI Luye               January 1983-March 1985

QIAN Jiadong       August 1985-July 1986

FAN Guoxiang        September 1989-September 1992

JIN Yongjian           October 1992-December 1995

WU Jianmin              January 1996-November 1998

QIAO Zonghuai        January 1999-August 2001

SHA Zukang            September 2001-May 2007

LI Baodong               July 2007-February 2010

HE Yafei                  March 2010-January 2012

LIU Zhenmin              February 2012-May 2013

WU Hailong               January 2014-February 2016

MA Zhaoxu                 March 2016-January 2018

YU Jianhua                February 2018-April 2019

CHEN Xu                      May 2019-present

Ambassador for Disarmament Affairs

QIAN Jiadong             1983-June 1986

FAN Guoxiang            June 1986-September 1989

HOU Zhitong                September 1989-December 1994

SHA Zukang                 March 1995-November 1997

LI Changhe                April 1998-October 1999

HU Xiaodi                   December 1999-January 2006

CHENG Jingye             February 2006-November 2007

WANG Qun                 March 2008-November 2011

WU Haitao                    December 2011-February 2015

FU Cong                       February 2015-September 2018

LI Song                      January 2019-present